The Beautiful Ones by Silvia-Moreno Garcia | Review

BowBowBowBow 4/5The Beautiful Ones is categorizes as a fantasy book, but I would have put it in the romance/ drama genre because the book is about Nina Beaulieu and her struggle with a renaissance-ish society she must be part of. At the beginning of the season, she is to attend all the important balls and soirees and therefore comes to the beautiful and high-up city of Loisal and is to stay with her uncle and his wife. Nina actually lives on the country but alas, her strange, uncontrollable talent has kept away any suitors there. She, as many others, can manipulate and move objects with their minds but such actions are not befit a lady.

This is where the story begins… it is basically a love story with the usual love-triangle that seems to be so popular at the moment. At least I meet it all the time. Even though the plot could barely surprise most of the time, I have to say that enjoyed this book immensely.

 

As so of you might know, for me characters and world-building, and the creating of a ‘realistic’ world are much more important than the actual plot since, let’s be honest, there are not so many original ones around. Almost everything has been told in one way or another.

Nina, Hector, Valerie and a few side characters really sucked me into this story with their cold charm, their melancholic realism and with their sweet naivité that gave me as a reader a refreshing start.

 

They player together wonderfully, even though the plot was mostly predictable. I enjoyed the world-building, the cultural notes the author made and the lessons of Etiquette a lot. I enjoyed the dialogues between characters and the strolls through town they took, partly because the time really fascinates me. It is the time just when cars begin to emerge and women walk through town in pretty petticoats and carriages.

 

As I said, the book is mainly about a certain love triangle between the three main characters so I don’t want to tell you any more about that because anything I could tell you would be spoiling the fun. This is a read you should definitely mark as ‘to read’ on Goodreads if you want to have some light reading material this autumn 😉

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

