Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Review

Screenshot_2017-04-07-13-05-54...BowBowBowBow4/5 Ribbons for this witty debut novel

Daughter of the Pirate King is the debut novel of Tricia Levenseller. I can’t say that this story really sucked me into its world immediately because the start was a little bumpy but apart from that, the story really flowed well and the main character, the daughter of a fearless pirate king who rules most of the sea, really captured my heart. She is funny and witty and plays her part of a secret intelligence agent really well. She kind of reminded me a little of James Bond because she does get a lot of attention from the other sex and she know how to use that to her advantage.

I really liked that ‘feministic’side of her, too, though I do think she kind of lost her head a little when a hot and smart pirate comes her way. Either way, I was captured by the intriguing and ( at least for me ) unique way in which the story was told and I literally finished this one in one go! I just couldn’t put it down once I was part of the story and I had all the names down 😀

The only thing that bugged me a little was that for me personally, the romance part seemed a little forced and I could see why it was part of the storyline but I think it would have worked just fine with a little less romance.I also thought that even though the story was well written and the world that was described was described very well, I though that the characters did come a little short. They could have been a little more fleshed out. I don’t say I didn’t understand some of their actions or thoughts because they were plausible. I just tend to like characters more than the plot and so I can’t be really satisfied if the characters seem to flat for me.

There was an unexpected twist at the end that really turned the story around and I think that Daughter of the Pirate King is a well-written and fantastic debut novel. If you’re searching for a light read ( no gore 😉 ) that is easy-to-read and funny, with witty and smart characters that try to get the best of one another. Then follow them on a mission that will keep everyone on their toes and read this book 😀

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

8 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Review”

  1. I like your comment regarding the lack of development of the characters, Klara. Looking back on it, these characters were a little too 2D. They could have benefited from more depth to their personalities instead of the stereotypical straight-forward personalities. Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

