A gathering of Ravens by Scott Odin | Review

A Gathering of RavensBowBowBowBowBearbeiten 4/5 Ribbons for this awesome book!

“To the Danes, he is skraelingr; to the English, he is orcnéas; to the Irish, he is fomoraig. He is Corpse-maker and Life-quencher, the Bringer of Night, the Son of the Wolf and Brother of the Serpent. He is Grimnir, and he is the last of his kind―the last in a long line of monsters who have plagued humanity since the Elder Days.”

A Gathering of Ravens is a great book about a lone Orc Grimnir! Odin manages to put Norse myth into a historical setting that will take your breath away and will leave you wanting more of it! Grimnir is determined to get his revenge that is long past due and so he abducts a female soon-to-be christian priestess ( or at least she wants to be) and uses her as a guide. He is mean and brutal and I wish there was a little bit more to him really

The story is full of old mythology, odd creatures, various religions battling for dominance and a world that you won’t forget so easily. I really enjoyed that we’re thrown into a time full of change and that everybody has to decide where they stand in this changing world.

The writing style is easy to read and the characters are deep and  well-developed. I honestly don’t want to spoiler you guys so my review will have to stay short! 

 The only thing that’s so-so is the religious theme and the price of the book. I am a student so I know how hard it can be to buy an expensive book  especially if you read as much as I do) but I would still recommend you to buy at least the ebook;) 

Also, the constant religious struggles were kind of tedious. Almost the first half of the book is only abou the religion of the people and no plot so I almost DNFed the book. I’m really glad I pulled through but it was a struggle in the beginning. 

*I received this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

