These Vicious Masks by T. Shanker and K. Zekas | Review

Bildergebnis für these vicious masks BowBowBow 3/5 Ribbons

This was a buddy read with the awesome Debby @alwaysbooking. Sorry for the late review Debby! Syntax got the better of me 😉 Check out here blog guys! Debby is one of the few people who can make reading a review as exciting as reading the book!  You should certainly read her review because we had very different opinions on the book! Here’s the link to her review.

Now to these Vicious Masks…I read about the book over at Kester’s blog which is pretty amazing! Go check out the LilBookLover’s corner out, too 😉 The premise really interested me and especially that Kester loved it so much and that is usually a pretty good indication that the book is great 😀

So I bought the book and asked Debby to read it together and while I loved the main character Evelin. She’s witty, strong, independent and extremely devoted to her sister Rose. When Rose goes missing, Evelyn risks everything to get her back. The mysterious Mr. Braddok wants to help her but can he be trusted? And what about Mr. Kent?

The story is fast paced, has strong and developed characters and the writing was just awesome. It was easy and fast to read and it was fun reading the story. There is a paranormal aspect which I don’t want to reveal because that WOULD be a huge spoiler. There is a tinge of romance, mystery, a strong woman and lots of secrets that keep you on your toes. The historical setting is intriguing and gives the story depth. It’s especially interesting because the characters face problems you just wouldn’t have in our time.

But why give three stars, then? Debby put it like this ” the story did have it’s moments of ‘why wasn’t that explained more?’ ” and that is definitely true. I had lots of moments that were not sufficiently explained but rather just thrown into like ‘hey! here’s a fact X, now deal with it!’ I don’t know, maybe I am a little too harsh here but there were really important scenes where VITAL information was thrown around like the persons were talking about the weather. Maybe this will be explained more in the second book. For me, that was a real no-go because the story seemed less and less believable at some point.

How did you like the book? Is These Vicious Masks on your TBR? How did you rate it? Let’s chat in the comments!

lets-chat

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

1 thought on “These Vicious Masks by T. Shanker and K. Zekas | Review”

Leave a Reply

