Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller | Review

Mask of Shadows (Untitled, #1)

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Ribbons

 

Hey there! I’m back again! I know, it’s been about two weeks and I really want to apologize for not answering comments so late. The truth is, I barely had any time to sleep. Essay deadlines and my two jobs have kept me busy all month and that’s why you haven’t seen me around lately. But I promise to keep you up to date from now on! 😀

So let’s get this review going guys because I have much to tell you about Mask of Shadows! 😉

Mask of Shadows is about Sal, who wishes to be part of the Queen’s assassination squad, the Left Hand. The book is all about that competition and even though that may sound boring, it was really intriguing, which is why I actually read through the book even though I didn’t have much time to read at all. Usually, I lose interest if I can’t get through a book after reading for a week and DNF. I think I spent all March reading only this book ( and University related stuff).

Sal is an extremely interesting character with a dark past that’s haunting them and I love how little slips and touches, smells or words woke their memory and I got to know them better and better as the story progressed. Through him, the bloody history of the country he lives in is told and their motive for entering the competition.

There is some blood and gore, and even some romance in the book so here is something for everybody. I did think the romance was kind of forces on a few occasions, that’s why I actually gave only four stars because it wouldn’t have been necessary to squeeze it in like that. A few pages more and it would have been much more realistic, and I am saying this knowing that the book probably plays in some kind of middle-ages.

I loved how Sal had to get through all kinds of tests: physical, emotional and intellectual. They had to get on and accept the past, or rather not let themselves be ruled by what happened long ago ( I don’t want to spoil you so you’ll have to read this part for yourself 😉 ).

It’s really hard to tell you more about the plot without actually spilling the gold! Yes gold! I enjoyed this book so much because of the trials, the fast-paced plot and the deep characters. The culture and the schemes of the people involved were extremely intriguing and I can recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t mind not having lots of plot twist but a solid story and characters.

Four Stars for our potential Opal 😉

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

6 thoughts on “Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller | Review”

Leave a Reply

