Parasyte: The Anime everybody should watch!

lmao i had to.

Hey guys! I know this is not a bookish theme at all but as some of you might know, I’m a big anime fan and I love to explore and watch new anime series whenever I can ( which is unfortunately never as much as I would like 😉 ).

Today I want to present you with an anime I watched very recently, or rather, I binge watched it because it was really entertaining and had all the right twists. Paraysite or Kiseijuu actually has a very cliché premise: Aliens come to the world and try to dominate human kind. However these, aliens are parasites that eat up people’s brains and  replace their humans in society. Still, when I first heard about it I was rather sceptical but I started it anyway because I wanted to try out something new and I was a little bored, too. 😀

Well, it turned out that my initial scepticism was uncalled for, as Parasyte developed into a fun adventurous and disturbing anime, full of action and amazing characters. We follow the story of Shinichi, I 18-year old who is stuck with a parasite who ate up his arm and is now part of his body. Shinichi calls him Migi (Japanese for ‘right side’) as he ate up Shinichi’s right hand.

Soon, our main character realizes that even though the aliens are quite intelligent, this is the only connection they have with humans. They are cannibals by nature, very aggressive and above all, void of any emotions. This is a mixture that leads Migi and Shinichi into many dangerous and mysterious situations as they try to find their place in life.

The anime is not only full of action and fun encounters but it is also quite serious in the sense that it also tries to answer the big questions all of us have. Why are we here? What is the reason we are alive and how are humans different to animals. Where do I stand within my society? It’s really amazing how this anime captured so many of these important questions but still having its light and care-free moments, a little romance and school life.

The thing I want to mention before I tell you all to start watching today is that I want to mention that this is no anime you should watch with your children! Not at all! There are many gory, detailed and bloody scenes and it is certainly not for young kids. There are some really disturbing scenes which I really liked but there is no way these scenes would not affect small children in an extremely negative way.

Start watching today!

 

Have you watched or read Parasyte? What did you think? Do you like anime at all?

Tell me your thoughts!

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

11 thoughts on “Parasyte: The Anime everybody should watch!”

  1. While I really loved watching Parasyte, I found as it progressed the pacing and then the final couple of episodes didn’t quite work as well as they could. Also, a lot of the support cast exist really only to die and that gets a bit predictable after awhile. Still, the concept is really interesting and the play-off between Migi and Shinichi is always entertaining.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey there! Sry for replying so late. My life has been a mess haha
      I just love the story haha I wish there was a sequel or something! I just loved how deep the story was even though it was funny. It’s seldom that I find such stuff in “real” TV shows

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds interesting and thanks for warning about whether kids can watch it. Do you watch it on Netflix? That gif with the mouth on the hand is freaky hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

