A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge | Review

BowBowBow half-bow3.5/5 Ribbons

A Face Like GlassThis is the second book I read by Frances Hardinge. The first one was The Lie Tree which was awesome. You can read my review here. Hardinge has managed it again to create a world which I have never encountered before. I was intrigued and happy to start this new adventure with an author who can create not only words and sentences, but art.

The story is about young Neverfell one day appears in a cheese maker’s tunnel. Tunnel, you ask? Well, you see this cheese maker does not live in our world, but below ground, in Caverna, where babies can’t form facial expressions by themselves and nobody knows why, where wine can make you forget, anc cheese can kill you on the spot. In this strange and wonderful world, the Emperor and court are never to be crossed, and yet…

A Face Like Glass was an extremely intriguing story with many twists and a unique plot that had me hanging on and never wanting to stop reading.The characters were special and sinister and good like angels, deceptive, paranoid, opportunistic and naive. You could find them all in this and where every expression is well-crafted and prepared in advance.

Ii thought the main character was sometimes a little too naive, but she learned her lessens eventually I think. I liked being part of the adventured Neverfell has and the dangerous situations she faces. The book made me smile and laugh and be afraid for our main character.

Why then give 3.5 RIbbons? Well, the thing was, even though I liked the story I would have liked the story to progress a little faster. I enjoyed reading it but I didn’t have much time on my hands and it took me about three days to read this book, not because I couldn’t spare the time but because it simply wasn’t so thrilling that I would stay awake longer to finish it. This might not seem like a big thing, but I can measure my excitement for a book pretty well on how fast I read it.

I enjoyed A Face Like Glass a lot and aI can recommend it to everyone who wants to read something new, magical and unheard of.

*I received an ARC from Netgalley in lieu of my honest review.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

