Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Alire Saenz | Review

BowBowBowBowBow 5/5 Ribbons

Bildergebnis für Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universefor this wonderful book that I should have read sooner ❤

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is a YA book that has all the right twist and turns. Unexpected friendships, love, family… Even though there are lots of light-hearted and insightful scenes, Aristotle and Dante’s story has also a few darker moments. Prejudice, gang life, poverty, racism and homophobia are addressed in this book on different levels. 

There is a variety of themes and so, there are also a variety of characters I met in this book. From doting parents, funny pets and amazing main characters and even some cowards and villains, you can find everything here.

Th writing style was imaginative and elaborate, without being overly explanatory or boring. It fit well in the story’s mood. The dialogues were extraordinarily well placed ( I think most authors use dialogues just because they don’t know how to go about a certain topic in the book). Saenz did a wonderful job of bringing this story to my home.

But I didn’t like Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe because of the character variety. I honestly cared almost only for the two main characters Ari and Dante. heir story is the main story and it touched my heart in ways I cannot or care not to analyze because it was just beautiful to listen to the awesome audiobook and enjoy the dialogues and the questions those two asked themselves: who am I? Where do I belong to? Which is the culture I want to be part of? What about my family, sexuality and education?

These are questions all us ask themselves to some degree at some point of their life and I just love their journey. The way is full of stones and rocks and hills and rivers, but also sunny days, and they make it through everything together as friends. I don’t feel embarrassed to say that I have started crying about four times while listening to the book in one day (!!).

There is nothing bad I can say about this book, I loved every minute of it and afterwards, I decided to immediately buy the hardcover edition because I just needed to have this book in m house ❤ I actually had such a bad hangover that only a week after I have finished it, I am ready to write this review. The story progresses slowly and naturally.

Maybe not all of you ( who haven’t read it) will be touched by the book as I was, but fr me, it is now one of my all-time-favourites. You should start reading really,soon!

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

7 thoughts on “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Alire Saenz | Review”

  1. Lovely review! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed this book so much, I loved it too 🙂 Do you plan on reading The Inexplicable Logic of My Life then? It’s from the same author and I think, if you liked that one, you might enjoy it just as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

