The Nature of Gods: Awakening | Review

Bow 1/5 Reviews

The Awakening by D.J. TorresI don’t know why but it seems that I don’t pick lots of books that I like these days…

The Nature of Gods: Awakening seemed to be an interesting read after reading the blurb and the cover is also beautiful ❤
After I started reading, I was sucked into this world pretty quickly. Olivia, Nature and other characters are very emotional and I got to know them very fast. The writing was very imaginative and there was a great balance between dialoge and descriptions.

I can’t tell you more positive things, because that was about it. I honestly loved the writing style but it just couldn’t make up for a cliche plot. The bullied girl gets super powers, finds Mr. Right while fighting the evil guys and becomes popular. That was the whole book in one sentence. I wish there had been some plot twists that were actual twists(!). I though the love interest was kind of lame and a little unreasonable.
Olivia and her neighbour barely ever talked with each other and all of the sudden he makes her compliments and touches her in the face all the time. She doesn’t get his advances for a long time, either. That was pretty unrealistic in my opinion.

It might seem a bit harsh but it was hard to enjoy the book with such obviously not thought-through actions, characters and dialoges. Sometimes I felt that the dialoges were kind of just there to fill the page. I don’t know. Maybe I am just a little too old (20) but maybe younger readers can excuse such things. I had higher expactations that unfortunately, were not met, even though the premise captured me instantly.

* I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

