Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein | Review

BowBow 2,5/5 Ribbons

Rose Petal Graves by Olivia WildensteinI started Rose Petal Graves a few days ago. I was intrigued by the cover and the blurb and started reading right after I received the copy from Netgalley. I liked the idea of ancient battles between men and faeries and the love story that had been promised.

As I started reading, I soon realized that Cat, the main character was really lost in the world which had revealed itself after th tragic death of her mother. I enjoyed that Rose Petal Graves was a family story. She and her father have a very close relationship. In fact, the whole town seems to have close ties with everyone basically.

I liked that the story was progressing fast and there was never a boring par to this book. Unfortunately, the characters were rather flat in my opinion. There was hinted at a lot of tension between different people and groups, but usually, they were only mentioned in passing which was a shame. I would have like to get to know the characters better.

The romance-y part seemed kind of forced in the beginning because suddenly, there was a kiss and then for a long time nothing. It was a little weird.

The writing style was not to my liking because I don’t enjoy reading a book where everything important is conveyed through two characters speaking. I really liked the ideas the author had but I have to say that I did not enjoy the story a lot. I have two stars because I felt that I might be too harsh and the plot was cool.

I can recommend this book to everyone who likes sudden turns of action and doesn’t mind characters being a little flat.

*I received this copy from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

12 thoughts on “Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein | Review”

    1. Well, then give it a try 😉 It may still be available on Netgalley.. The premise is great and there are a lot of diverse character that make the story interesting 🙂 if you try it, tell me what you thought; )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

