Stolen Futures: Unity by Cat Lyons | Review

BowBowBow3/5 Ribbons

Stolen Futures: Unity, the Complete TrilogyStolen Futures: Unity, the Complete Trilogy was a fun read. I could really see that the author has invested a lot of time to come up with all the background stories theories and especially with the culture I met in this book. The future was kind of scary in a surreal way that only sci-fi stories can make you feel.

A girl, Annie, is for reasons I will not tell you know ;), teleported into a future time-line and finds herself in future Las Vegas. Soon she learns that she has to save the future. But what that really means and what she has to do, who she will meet and what challenges await her before she might accomplish the seemingly impossible remains yet to be seen..

The premise really intrigues me so I started reading and first, I really wasn’t sure that this was really a fantasy book, but as the story kept going I enjoyed the character and the interactions with others. Annie was one of those characters who are so human, it’s almost not funny anymore. Sometimes, her denial about what happened to her really annoyed me but she soon grew on me as she realized that what had happened to her was real.

I enjoyed the writing style and the culture Lyons described, the struggles the future world had gone through.. It was all intriguing and fascinating. Lyon is a great story builder.

Some characters were a little flat in my opinion. I like it when characters feel more than they think and when they remember more than they actually tell others. It’s a matter of style I guess. So even though I liked the overall writing-style, I had my problems with the characters.

What also bugged me, and what is also the second reason I only gave three stars, was that concepts and people who were really important, or at least seemed to be so were kind of just dumped into the story. Whoops- there is something new the main character and I as a reader have to cope with but really, I felt like the important things were totally ignored by Annie while other things I though were extremely essential for her to know were just waltzed over like an advertisement the boy next door delivers every Thursday. That frustrated me.

But just because the book wasn’t as enjoyable for me, doesn’t mean you won’t like it. If you don’t mind a fast-moving plot, then I’m sure you’ll enjoy Stolen Futures: Unity a lot 😉

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

10 thoughts on “Stolen Futures: Unity by Cat Lyons | Review”

  1. Aww, sorry to hear that this wasn’t the best for you, Klara! While I thought the premise sounds intriguing and it sounds like the author took their time to develop the world and its cultures, everything else seems to be a bit neglected. I don’t mind a fast-moving plot but it also doesn’t sound like this book offers much else. I hope your next read will be better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s right. The characters did come a little short in my opinion, but I bet there are a lot of people who wouldn’t mind 🙂 Thanks Reg! In fact, I just finished Aristoteles and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe… it was.. I don’t know. I think I have a severe hangover😍 Did you read that book?

      Like

      1. I did! To be honest, though, I’m not a big fan of Aristotle and Dante so perhaps not the best person to fangirl about it – I love the themes but just didn’t really like the writing style. 😛

        Like

        1. That’s kind of what I likes about it. The themes were ones I usually don’t read about so it was a great new experience. And yes, the writing style can totally destroy a book 😛 I know I had a few I almost DNF-ed because of the writing haha

          Like

    1. Aw it’s alright! I read lots of books these days so it really doesn’t matter if I don’t like all of it. But the blurb sounded like something that I have never read before, I guess that made it a little worse for me. But not all that glitters is golden 😉 did you read a book that got your hopes up and didn’t give you what you thought you’d get, recently?

      Like

Leave a Reply

