Empress of the Fall by David Hair | Review

BowBowBowhalf-bowย 3.5/5 Ribbons

Empress of the Fall was advertised by saying it was similar to the Song of Ice and Fire series. I didn’t really take that personally but I’m a huge fan of the series and I though, ‘ Will this really be as good as Song of Ice and Fire?’

I decided it was not. There are only a few reasons for this, though.

I really enjoyed the writing style and it kept me at it even though I really didn’t understand anything of the first chapter. I was in the mood, so I went on reading and it was really good that I did.

I loved the characters. They were so divers and interesting. The cultures I got to know were really fascinating even though it did resemble our current situation around Europa and the Middle East pretty much. So it wasn’t really anything new culture-wise, but the characters and the royal courts, the schemes and wars were fascinating.

What kind of made me give it only 3.5 Ribbons is that there wasn’t really any plot. I was over half of the almost 700 pages and I still couldn’t see where this was going. It seems to me that this book will be part of a bigger series but I still felt a little discouraged by tha fact that the first book was only establishing all the characters.

Even though I enjoyed the characters and their struggles and schemes, my heart wasn’t really in it.

But I can recommend the book to anyone who likes complex settings and places and lot’s of characters. Classic immersive fantasy here. The book will be released on March 9th so go and get yourself a copy and try it out ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

7 thoughts on “Empress of the Fall by David Hair | Review”

  1. A lot of books seem to be compared to The Song of Ice and Fire these days. I don’t know if that’s a bad thing or not… Anyway, this sounds interesting. Might pick it up ๐Ÿ™‚
    (feels like I’m going through all of your recent reviews today^^ Thank you for extending my tbr โ™ฅ)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know๐Ÿ˜ต I really don’t see why they all want to be like the Song of Ice and Fire! I know it’s popular but honestly, the immersive fantasy style isn’t that popular, it’s his character depth and story but people feel if they write conplicated, then they’re books will sell better? It’s really a shame, but I’m glad I could help you out ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

Leave a Reply

