How to become a better (University) student.

I have been asked this question so many times, guys, you won’t believe me. I have seen many people struggle and fail and get up again.. It happens to all of us at some point. Some fall on their nose and scratch it and others fall and break their leg. It really doesn’t matter how hard you have struggled with school or uni or college, at some point you have to ask yourself how to improve. Fast.

Sometimes it is just the finals, sometimes it is your Bachelor thesis you’re struggling with. I wan to give some advice to all those who need it because I feel the need to share it with all of you. I know it’s not really a bookish topic, but here you go..

1. What are your goals?

Never underestimate this question. Do you want to just pass the test or do you want to improve your marks long-term? Usually, you’ll want to do both I guess. Write it down, stick it on your fridge, or re-name your alarm clock in the morning – whatever it takes not to forget your goals.

2.Write a list!

I know it sound like the most nerdy and unhelpful thing in the world but don’t be fooled by prejudice and hear-say about this! Lists can make your life much much much easier because you took your time doing this list. You can be sure there is (almost) nothing missing on your list and THEN you can start to get rid of the things there. This means your list shouldn’t be a list of your goals but a TO DO list. I do one for each day, each work works, too.

Important is this: YOUR LIST WILL BE TOO FULL in the beginning. I overestimate the time I need for things all the time. It happens to everyone but don’t feel discouraged. It’s part of learning what you can handle.

3. Organize your paperwork!

Otherwise, you’ll never find the notes you took three weeks ago in that one lecture where the teacher had that funny shirt on.

4.Get your arse on that chair! (Discipline)

I know, I know. But the thing is, the day will pass, all of its 24 hours, no matter what you have done with your time. So even though you sometimes don’t feel like doing it, or when you’d rather enjoy the sunny day- go and have some fun. But come back and get your butt on that chair and do some work. You will be so glad you did it when the sun has set!

This is of course the hardest part. So it’s important that you reward yourself in some way. Go out, eat some chocolate, cake, ice-cream, go for a walk or spend the erst of your day with friends or a book. No matter what you do, make sure you really reward yourself! Don’t go and do something you don’t like afterwards 😉

 

I hope my tips help you in the future. Try them out and tell me what you thought. You don’t have to try the all, but the fourth one is a must!

How do you study? What has worked best for you? Let’s chat in the comments!

lets-chat

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

14 thoughts on “How to become a better (University) student.”

  1. I so recognise myself in these! Lists, planning and discipline. Those are definitely the key factors for me. Discipline being the most difficult one 😛 So if I were to add something to your list it would be to study in the library/silent study area/alone in a café or something, that works the best for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Ida! That’s a great idea! Silent study is the best study! Sometimes, light classic music is also OK but it doesn’t work with every topic for me. Do you drink coffee or energy drinks before wxams?

      Like

      1. I usually have music even though I’m sitting in the silent area (love headphones), the silent area is just the best place to get to study alone without distractions 🙂
        Before exams I usually don’t do anything special. Study 😛 😀 Just my normal breakfast (or lunch, depending on the time of the exam) and that’s it

        Like

        1. I yeah on the days of the exam I usually don’t study either. But I know a lot of people who can’t stand preparing for exams without enegery drinks and lots of coffee because they want to do extra long hours of studying every day. But you know how iit is, if you had a great study plan you usually don’t fear exam time 😉

          Like

        2. Right. That’s why I try to not over-stuff every day but give myself at least one o two days where I will be able to catch up to the tasks I wasn’t able to do. That way I don’t feel the pressure so much 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Agree. Planning is key. But sometimes all the courses decide on deadlines during the same week. Oh how I hate those times…but then again, you realise how much you actually can get done. So that’s a plus 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

