The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco | Review

BowBowBow 3/5 Ribbons

Not all that glitters is gold you guys… I really wanted this book to be wonderful and magical and maybe a little creepy. I just loves the cover and though ‘This one just has to be amazing!’ But… It didn’t turn out as expected actually.

For starters, I absolutely hated didn’t enjoy tha fact that every chapter is being deprives of its mystery and suspense because our witch is being interviewed by a really nosy guy we don’t know much about.

It took me many many chapters to get over it and even then, I started skipping those parts because I wanted to go on with the story, which wasn’t much suspenseful to be honest.

I liked the premise of the story. A little girl wakes her beloved brother from the dead and has to face the stamp and social shunning she get’s for being a ‘bone witch’. She get’s picked up by a very powerful black asha ( the politically right word to call a bone witch) and starts as an asha apprentice of sorts.

The story was entertaining and funny but sometimes I felt it was a little too obsessed with details instead of the plot.

The main characters and basically all other characters were rather flat. I could feel that there was more to some of them but there was rarely a glimpse of it in the text itself.

*I received a ARC from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Have you read the Bone Witch? What did you think about the concept of Heartglasses? Let’s chat in the comments 😉

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

18 thoughts on “The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco | Review”

    1. You’re right Melanie. I felt exactly the same way. I felt like every time there was something interesting happening it was destroyed by the odd conversations she and the interviewer had.. really a shame.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Those little present-day snippets annoyed the bejeebus out of me! I was like: “Well, thanks for letting me know what’s about to happen in the chapter. SPOILER ALERT!” Ugh. Honestly, I think it was a horrible way to write the book and those scenes were completely unhelpful. They didn’t offer anything new to the story.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I felt exactly the same. I mean, I was tempted to just skip those chapters from the start. And that is never a good sign, especially since it almost never happens to me😅 I agree, there are much better ways to tell her story. For me, it really wasn’t fun this way.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Honestly, I don’t think you are. I’m that way, too. I think the more you read the more you anaylize aspects of the book which you wouldn’t have bothered giving thought to before. But as blogger, I always try to review a book from a subjective and an objective POV. This way, people will know what I thought but will also see the strong or weak sides of a book and can decide for themselves. It does make you critical of smaller things I guess. But this way, I can appreciate a really great book all the more. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I can definitely tell that I’ve gotten more critical of books since I started writing reviews in 2015. It actually makes me worried to re-read some books because …what if i don’t like them as much as I remember liking them? I don’t want to ruin my memory of the book. :p

          I’ve also noticed it makes me pickier about tropes or cliches in books. I notice them more easily and have a nuch harder time accepting a book if it has one.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Melanie, I’m exactly the same so don’t be too hard on yourself! 🙂 Sometimes I feel like I’m too hard on a book because the storyline was cliche or sth similar and then I rate it down even though I enjoy it. Sometimes it really breaks my heart to look at books and say ‘I loved it but this and that didn’t quite reach the Standard of the rest of the book. Do you think that’s weird? 😮

          Liked by 1 person

        5. Nah. I think that makes total sense and, honestly, I’m not upset about being critical. Personally, I think books need to be held to a high standard no matter what age group they’re for or what’s going on in the story. If we don’t, then books will lose quality and I don’t want that. I want them to exceed my expectations (even if my expectations are high) because I want to absolutely enjoy the book and disappear into the world, and I have found a few out there that have done just that! ^.^

          Liked by 1 person

        6. I should probably warn you. I like a lot of darker YA that deal with some pretty dark, realistic things, but my favorites are Arena by Holly Jennings, Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano, Uninvited by Sophie Jordan, Link by Summer Wier, and Gambit by C.L.Denault.
          Do you have any favorites you wanna share?

          Liked by 1 person

        7. That’s fine I like to read all kinds of things 🙂 I actually don’t have too many favourites, but concerning YA, I liked the Raven Circle series by Maggie Stiefvater a lot, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz, Red Winter by Annette Marie. My all-time-favourite is The Hobbit but I also enjoyed Portal of a Thousand Worlds by Dave Duncan a lot as well as the A Song of Ice and Fire series. It’s definitely worth reading even if the books are a little thicker.. Do you read fantasy, too? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        8. Haha! I listed mainly scifi, didn’t I? :p Yes, I read fantasy, but not as often. I have read the first three in ASOIAF, but they took me FOREVER (like a month each). So, I’m stalling on the next one. :p
          And I’ve heard good things of Raven circle. Just haven’t bought it (because I own too many unread books. >.> woops)
          Oo! I do have The Hobbit… in a box… in a room… somewhere in the house. *cough* (I just moved. :p)

          Liked by 1 person

        9. They do take long to read. I’m currently writing a paper about the series and I need for each book about two weeks& I read them every day 😥 I know, I moved a year ago or so and I still search for stuff because I only know where it was in my old hous haha I have a really bad conscience when I see the books in the shelf and I know I haven’t read them, yet.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

