How Audiobooks Changed My Life as a Blogger

I have mentioned in a few comments over the last few weeks and I wanted to dedicate a whole post to the wonderful realm of audiobooks.

school

The thing is, I have never really liked audiobooks to begin with. I listened to one audiobook all the time before I started blogging and that was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Much later, when I had been blogging for about two months, I read a post about audiobooks and even though I was interested, I was also sceptical.

How could a story that you didn’t read yourself be as fascinating and as captivating as something you have read on your own? As I listened to The Hobbit every once in a while though, I though I’d just give it a try.

And that’s what I did.

I listened to the Harry Potter series and I fell in love with the books all over again. Immediately after, I started to listen to Halfway Dead, which turned out to be not my thing ( I might write a review about the audiobook a little later), because the narrator is extremely important.

Even if I “only” listen to an audiobook, the feels are real!

I thought I couldn’t listen to women narrating a story but then I listened to Ruin and Rising and I loved it just as much with a male narrator. So I realized it depended more on intonation and the way they talked than on the voice itself.

the narrator

How did this help me become a better blogger?

I’m actually not sure if my reviews have a better quality of if I’m writing better. But what I do know is that it helps me to plan posts better. I don’t have to stress about not having time to read, especially now that my finals are ringing at my doorbell like nasty neighbor’s boys. I can dedicate much more time to the audiobooks than I currently can devote to physical books . I can still enjoy great books without loosing too much sleep during the week.

But what about the argument that I might not really listen to the book, or that I could get distracted more easily? Well the thing is, I only listen to audiobooks when I do tasks that don’t require much thinking.

Barack Obama beauty obama ears president barack obama

  • Doing the Laundry
  • Vacuuming the house
  • Driving my car
  • Preparing sandwiches for me and my boyfriend
  • Getting ready in the morning (showering, putting on some makeup, eating breakfast(when alone))

This way, I can’t get distracted and stop listening because all these task are so automated that I don’t need two brain cells to accomplish them haha. But they make these tasks so much more enjoyable and exciting!

heidi klum

So put your fears aside chumps! I bet all of you know at least one book they’d like to read immediately but don’t have the time. Next time you’ll get on the bus, train or do the laundry, listen to it! I’m sure it will be great 😉

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

11 thoughts on “How Audiobooks Changed My Life as a Blogger”

  1. Love this post. Audiobooks are a huge part of my life. According to Audible I have spent well over 2 months in total listening to books. So many hundreds of hours … i often find that a great narrator can make a good story far better. I was so blown away by R.C Bray reading ‘The Martian’ that I have listened to it twice.

    Audiobooks fill so much of the dull times at work for me. And they make up a good portion of my blog content. So I love them :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really enjoyed listening to Will Patton ( I think that’s how to spell him anyway). He narratef the Raven Circle by Maggie Stiefvater. I just love the series. When he talkes you literally get goosebumps. Wow that is a lot of books! Does it pay off to use audible all the time? I feel like it is quite expensive for only getting 2 books in one month for your money… how is your experience with it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m in the UK and £7.99 gets me one book a month with the option to buy 3 free credits at a reduced rate. I have been a continuous member for years. Most of the books I listen to would cost more than the monthly price of £7.99 so for me it’s worth it. I tend to listen to books that are 20 hours + so they last me a fair while.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s great actually. I’m a student so unfortunately I can’t spend too much money on audiobook. If I could, I think I’d listen to at least 3 or 4 à 10hrs so that would still be a little too expensive I guess.. But maybe when I’ll earn a little extra I’ll give it a try 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I don’t listen to a ton of audiobooks, I do have Siri read for me books on my phone. Have you ever tried that? If you have the Kindle app or are reading PDFs on iBooks (iPhones), then you could swipe down with two fingers and Siri will read the pages continuously for you. It has helped me a bit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always turned my back to audio books just for the reasons I see here. I felt I’d get distracted & tune out or not liking the voice. But this is probably the millionth time I’m seeing someone say they enjoy it. I find it so hard to keep up with reading for my blog’s sake because of writing my own book, going to work, etc. I think I may try the unthinkable and give an audio book a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Give it a try and come back or make a pingeback! I really want to read how you liked it 🙂 It takes only a few minutes tonfund a great book and narrator and certainly less time than reading an actual book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

