Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Review

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Ribbons

The Raven Boys is the first installment of Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Circle series. I listened to the audiobook via Audible. I was trough it within a couple of days because it was so exciting!

At first, I was really sceptical because the narrator Will Patton has this raspy, whispering voice that gave the story a haunted, mysterious feeling from the start. I really thought it was kind of ridiculous to force the story into such a setting, but as the story went on, I realized that this narrator was the best they could have given the job to.

I loved how the story unraveled, that it was not predictable. There was always something fascination to find for Blue and her Raven Boys. The places, the stories and the mysterious people they meet, it all adds up to a wonderful but dangerous place, full of myths and secrets. I loved how Stiefvater created magical places without having to describe their importance and their history. I just knew from what the characters saw that these were places I would have loved to visit, just to have smelled the air around them.

The characters were extremely intriguing even though I didn’t understand a few of them at the beginning. Ronan was one of the characters who really annoyed me in the beginning but he grew on me throughout the story, because I saw what a kind of guy he truly was.

I could so relate to Gansey and Adam in so many ways, especially at the end (don’t want to spoiler you guys ;)). Let’s just say something happened that was kid of predictable, and yet unpredictable, that let me cry  and hate certain characters even more than before. That was where the story really got me involved so much that I couldn’t stand to wait any longer to finish the whole thing.

But not only that incident but many before gave me the shivers and my heart was racing. Small sentences.  A turn of the head, a nod, a gaze, staying too long on their object of interest. It was just… real. That’s what I loved most about it. It wasn’t just the sparks of romance here and there, but the whole interaction between the characters that really got me.

But why ‘only’ four ribbons then? Well….

The thing is, I didn’t understand what the hunt of the Raven Boys was even about, of why they were searching for it in the first place. I mean Gansey, yes. The others, no. That confused me a lot in the beginning. And also, I have to say that even though I devoured this piece of literature, in retrospect, I feel like there didn’t happen much at all. I didn’T mind that a lot but I guess I want to stay objective.

So if you are the reader who likes plot-driven books, keep that in mind.

And as always, put this book on your TBR pile, it won’t disappoint.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

6 thoughts on “Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Review”

  1. It’s funny. I liked ronan from the moment he was introduced. I think maybe because we knew he was friends with gansey, I assumed there was more to him and I was looking forward to finding out. I’m reading book two right now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I gave this book four stars as well – I think the plot is there, but it just took SO LONG for the book to get there. I think if you enjoy Stiefvater’s writing style as much as I did it’s not a big deal though. Do you think you’ll be picking up the sequels anytime soon? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I actually finished the second book by now😅 I’m addicted I think. Ther review will be up soon too, though I do have kind of the same opinion as before. .. did you read the other books?

      Like

  3. I completely relate to the feeling about the plot, which is why I only gave it a four also! We’re just thrown in from the beginning with no real explanation as to why they are looking for this King! I was so confused for awhile. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this book. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Katy! 😄 I thought it was confusing, too. Later we get to know that they’re all driven by personal problems or ideas they want solved. I can see it’s the only real option without making the characters seem flat but it felt kind of lame to me haha. Especially since some of them seemed to go for the ride bc they were Gansey’s friends and later it turned out to be a little different.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

