Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by J.K.Rowling | Review

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Ribbons

About the Book

Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them is a book which Harry Potter buys in his very first year at Hogwarts school of magic and wizardry. In this book, and the movie, we learn how this book was written and who stands up for the fantastic beasts we find in the book.

The book Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them is actually a screenplay, so it is quite obviously, a quite different reading experience. It made you imagine more of the scenery and people yourself before there were only basic descriptions of everything. I really enjoyed that. And above all, it is much faster read through than a ‘normal’ novel. This turned out to be great because my schedule before christmas is overflowing with things to do and people to meet. But this is one of the joys of the christmas season 😉

I really enjoyed the characters and their background stories, even though they were a little flat. Newt is a real cutie though I think he really only lives for his creatures, which he nurtures and cares for as if they were his children. I love how funny he is without realizing it haha.

fantastic beasts and where to find them gif

The other characters, Tina, Jacob and Queenie are adorable and funny. I enjoyed especially Jackob and Queenie’s relationship, though they are quite cliché characters and in the end, I didn’t really know how to feel about them.

Sometimes, the switch between scenes was kind of abrupt (obviously) and that was quite unnerving at times. But the plot was something really new, the creatures were adorable and fascinating and some of the plot twists- I would have never though this might happen.

About the Film

20161122_081245After I read the book, I went to the cinema to watch the film and I loved it even more than the book. Seeing all that you’ve read about at the screen, EXACTLY A YOU READ IT is an experience most of us never get. Novels tend to be put into film differently than a screenplay, of course. But I still really enjoyed the feel of knowing what people say and I was curious all the time about how a particular building of scene will look like. I was especially fond of the fantastic creatures. They were so adorable!

On the other hand, things I noticed in the play which didn’t quite make sense or just didn’T feel as deep as they could have been, didn’t surprise me at the movies at all. The scenes I though kind of well, not well thought through, were exactly that and I thought that was a shame. Though, most of the film was very enjoyable and funny, so I didn’t mind all that much.

But I didn’t really get this cosy, warm feeling when I think of the Harry Potter series, so it can’t quite live up to that (,yet).

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

