A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review

BowBowBow   Bow4/5 Ribbons

20161104_080218Let me start with saying this: I am VERY suspicious when it comes to hyped books. ACOTAR is and extremely hyped book. And so, when Debby from AlwaysBooking send me this one, I wasn’t really sure whether I should have low or high expectations before reading it, especially since Debby loves the second book of the series. I decided I wanted to start with no expectations at all ( which is almost impossible of course) and I started.

And I read, and read… And nothing seemed to really happen except for a mistreated girl looking after her ungrateful family. The setting ( the wall) kind of reminded me of GoT and the protagonist, Feyre the huntress, reminded me a little of Catniss from The Hunger Games. This might be a rude comment to make for some, but I couldn’t help but feel that the story wasn’t quite extraordinary at the beginning.

The writing took some time getting used to, but once I was familiar with Maas’s way of writing, it didn’t feel unnatural anymore. At the beginning I couldn’t get into the mood and setting because the writing set me off a bit. But I kept going because I knew there was something there that lots of people enjoyed …

As I was finished with about a third of the book, the plot got really interesting for me and I actually started to like Feyre and her new … acquaintances. As this is part romance, naturally she and a certain someone fall in love which was kind of obvious from the start, but I really liked how slow Maas built their relationship. Their interactions were always charming, magical and fun to read. I was happy for those two and yes, as I read about them a few butterflies found their way into my belly, too.

Those scenes really touched me whereas with some others, I really didn’t know what to think of those. But I felt like the right passages were rushed and the right ones narrated in detail. I enjoyed reading about the dangers Feyre had to face and the help she received was not overly romanticized for which I was extremely thankful.

I might have developed a little crush on Rhysand. I really hope that I will read more about him in the next book πŸ˜€

Even though the start was a little rough, I liked how the characters developed, the romance was wonderfully magical and overall, I liked most of the characters. All of them had a certain job, no one was just there to fill in some blank space. Although I found the ending quite satisfactory, I still felt that the ending was kind of rushed. I can recommend this book to everyone who wants a good, fast read with some romance, action and some fearies πŸ˜‰


Like my pictures? Follow me on Instagram to see my latest bookish shots πŸ˜‰

lets-chat

Have you read ACOTAR ? How did you like it? What do you think about hyped books? Yay or nay? Let’s chat in the comments πŸ˜‰

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

28 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review”

    1. Aw thank you πŸ˜„ But please don’t say that! I really like your posts! πŸ™‚
      I think I will pick up the next one soon. Maybe even this month. But there is soo much to do and read this month πŸ“š Did you read the second book?

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh that would be so fun! Will you have time to read it in December? I have two books I need to finish before Christmas (together with a lot of deadlines and exams). So I couldn’t start it before after Christmas, and then I’ll be moving and then New Year’s happening. Hm…How about in January? Can you wait for that long?

          Sorry of this being a rant. I was writing and thinking at the same time^^

          Liked by 1 person

        2. That’s perfect! I think I could manage to read it between christmas and the New Year bit January is fine as well! Would you like to start reading at the beginning of January? πŸ™‚

          Like

  1. I want to read your review, but at the same time, I don’t want to read your review because I’m reading the book right now! I don’t want it to effect my opinions and I don’t want to spoil myself in any way. So I’ll just save this, for when I finish the book πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I just finished! Woohoo πŸ˜€
          I really agree with you that it was slow at the beginning, it started to get interesting after about 250 pages. The rest of the book was great! However, I wasn’t really a fan of Feyre and Tamlin together, and I don’t know why but I just didn’t really like it. I didn’t like Rhysand, but I do think he’s a really interesting character, so I’d love to read more about him.
          The ending felt really like the end, so I have no clue what is supposed to happen next…

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Feyre and Tamlin, well, I would have liked her to be with Rhysand because I like his playfulness. He is so dangerous 😍 haha I’m hopeless when it comes to these things. I’m as clueless as you are, but we’ll find out soon πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I can’t really make up my opinion of Rhysand, but I don’t think I’d like it if Feyre and Rhysand were together (although I do suspect that it’ll happen)

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I think it will happen at some point and it might not be meat to last..
          Rhysand is an extremely queer figure and I think or I hope that we will see how deep a character he is in the 2nd book. I thinks he has a lot of potential hah. Which character did you like most?

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I don’t know… I really don’t. I liked Feyre a lot in the beginning but not so much at the end, and then maybe Lucien, but I don’t know… I didn’t really connect to any of the characters. Rhysand is your favourite?

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I tend to end up reading hyped books way after the hype train has left the station. Mostly because I’m always a few years behind on everything (accidentally the opposite of a hypster?). I get bored and think, hey you know what I should read? That book everyone was talking about a few years ago. Lol

    I haven’t read any Sarah j mass books yet. I’m almost certain I will end up reading them (at least the first in the series) at some point though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jessica, I’m just like you. I usually don’t read very hyped books during the hype except for when sb thursts them into my bookish face or I’m actually interested in the plot. But I really didn’t regret reading this one πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read this book yet but I have had a bad experience with SJM’s works. Reading this review made me kind of want to pick up ACOTAR since I haven’t actually tried this one yet… but I have a feeling I wouldn’t like it. The fear of missing out is real, though. 😫

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha then you should give this one a go πŸ˜‰ You can probably find it in your library πŸ˜‰ I think I said it already, but if you keep reading for a few chapters, the story gets really interesting πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

