Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo | Review

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Ribbons

This was a buddy read with Jasmine from How Useful It Is. You can read her review here.We both came up with some questions we answered in the review. Three are on mine and three on hers. Check out her review and the question we answered there ๐Ÿ˜‰

20161126_082613Now about Shadow and Bone

At first, it was hard for me to keep reading because the beginning was kind of depressing for me. The protagonist, Alina, is fragile, skinny and above all bitter. She is bitter because of many reasons and justly so. Coupled with the dark and ominous time and places that we as readers were introduced to, it made for a quite depressing read the first fifty pages.

But as the setting and characters were finished being introduced, the plot started and it hooked me instantly. One event after another got me thinking what was really going on. I wouldn’t say that the story was fast paced but rather that each even was timed just right to be detailed but not boring but intriguing and making you want to read more.

We got to know new people who were helpful, friendly and resentful. I loved Botkin and Genya and laughed about their antics towards Alina. There were others I didn’t like as much but later on the plot twist was there and BOOM! Suddenly I was them in a totally different light! After that major twist I was hardly able to not read more than Jasmine and I wanted to read per day, and eventually we decided to read more every day because it was that interesting!

Shortly afterwards, there was yet again something rather unpredictable and I was being left to ponder the intentions and actions of several characters. Jasmine and I discussed some of these things in detail and we’re still not sure about everything that was going on!

The writing style was plain and simple and made for an easy, fast and enjoyable read. Sometimes, a different language was used to separate different people and regions but I didn’t mind since I understood everything.

Shadow and Bone is an interesting and entertaining read that had me laughing, holding my breath, goosebumps and heart racing on different occasions and I really enjoyed it a lot. The best part of it: this is only the first book of Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy! The reason I gave four stars was only because in the beginning, it was hard to me to get into it.

Our Questions:

1) Does the book remind you of another book you read?

No. It reminded me a little bit of Russian or Slavic countries in general because of language references but I have never read anything quite like it

Jasmine’s answer: No. I’m glad it’s not like any other books I have read. It’s a unique read and I like it.

2) Is there something in the story you would like to change? If yes, what?

Yes, I think I’d prefer our main character “associating” with some other character. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I also like the way it turned out to be in the end.

Jasmine’s answer: Yes. I would hope that there were more than one POVs. It would have been interesting to follow another person’s train of thoughts. If not the guys, then at least the Apparat’s POV because he seems weird. I want to know what his weird mind is thinking.

3) Do you want to read the rest of the series?

Yes. I really enjoyed the first book, Shadow and Bone.

Jasmine’s answer: Yes. I am hoping to see what wrath the Darkling has planned for Alina after she used The Cut on him haha..

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

13 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo | Review”

  1. Great review! So you have decided on your stars.. hehe.. I thought you may rated higher than me because you didn’t liked only the first 50 pages while I thought the first 13 chapters were slow. Like you said, it makes up later. It’s been fun buddy reading with you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Ya, I really wasn’t sure but I might not have read it as far as I did if we wouldn’t have read it with you so that’s why ๐Ÿ™‚ It was really cool! We should do it again soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to see you enjoyed it and that you’ll continue with the series. I read only first two books + one short story, but I never finished the series. Now I think I’ll have to reread first two books and then read the third one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

