Harry Pottter and the Philospher’s Stone | Review

Bow Bow Bow Bow 4/5 Ribbons

https://i1.wp.com/www.bookstation.hu/images/item_image/original/179173.jpgWhen I just started going to school, my aunt took me to the cinema to watch a movie. It was Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I really liked the movie, especially since all the characters were about my age. And heroes your age are always the best. Back then, I hated reading and never touched one of the actual Harry Potter books. But I grew up watching the films and as the characters grew older, braver and bolder, I grew with them.’ Till this day, I haven’t read one of them. Last week, I finally changed my mind and started the first book of the series as audiobook.

I was really taken by the main character Harry. He is a young boy, an orphan, a wizard. He is many things but what really stuck with me as traits of Harry in the first book were those: he is brave and curious. But all throughout the first half of the book, I couldn’t shake this feeling of pity I had for him. No parents, no love and such horrible people to live with. His family had annoyed me in the first film as well (which I watched a few times 😀 ) but never as much as in the book. Though their stupidity and ignorance where somewhat annoying, it also made for an interesting and funny ‘read’.

After the second half, when all important characters had been introduced, I felt like the character depth was being reduced to a minimum in order to get the plot going. I realized why Rowling couldn’t rant about Harry, his feelings and thoughts forever, especially since his background story had been established already, but it was still a shame. I would have liked to get a little more information on at least Ron, who was at Harry’s side constantly. And maybe some more of our female heroine, Hermione, but I understood that.

The writing was lively and it was never boring listening, the characters and scenes were realistic, funny and intriguing. I loved to hear more about this parallel wizarding world that us muggles didn’t know about, let alone understand. Even though I watched the film many times, I enjoyed this new perspective a lot. That’s why I started to listen to the second part shortly after finishing the first. But I also have to admit that I think they did a great job with the film. Most scenes were displayed accurately and the scenery was amazing, in book and film alike.

I gave four stars because even though I enjoyed this a lot, I couldn’t shake the uns feeling of not learning a little bit more about the side characters and their stories. Maybe that will happen in the next book. I’m curious and I hope you are, too!

If you haven’t read the book already, you should definitely do it even if you watched the films. J.K.Rowling writes this story wonderfully and fills this secret, magical world with such life as rarely any authors manage to do.

I could rant on and on about how great it was but honestly guys, you just have to start reading yourself to get those feelings of a great book.

lets-chat

When did you encounter our wizard Harry Potter? Did you watch the movies first or did you read the books? What house do you belong to and who is your favourite character? Let’s chat in the comments 😉

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

7 thoughts on “Harry Pottter and the Philospher’s Stone | Review”

Leave a Reply

