A Game Of Thrones by G.R.R. Martin | Review

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Stars

20161023_155538I bet you all know the Game Of Thrones series. I managed to stay mostly spoiler free, never watching one episode after I had seen the first one. I just wasn’t convinced. And I never really cared for it afterwards, even if my bf is a huge fanboy of the series. Then one day, my professor decided it was time I read them, and here my review begins…

Even though I was kind of obliged to read this book because I was assigned to read A CLash of Kings ( book 2 of the series) and I couldn’t read that without reading the first book first, I enjoyed it so much, that I just had to share my thoughts about it with you guys!

Where do I start?

The writing style of A Game Of Thrones is hard to describe. The book is rather thick (about 800 pages) but it never feels like you sat too long on it. The story moves forward swiftly, the descriptions are never too overwhelming so they don’t interfere with the wonderful flow of the story. The metaphors let you see perspectives and characters much clearer and the easy way Martin shows us this world are just amazing and intoxicating.

Not only the writing style kept me reading this book but also the wonderful, deep characters. As you might now, there are quite a few of them. In the beginning I was struggling to remember them all, and even know I don’t know every peasant’s name, but I do not care to either. The main characters’ perspectives are the Stark family along with other characters. Not one of them comes too short, neither is flat or uninteresting and every one of them has their own ways of thinking and their charm. Every author who decides to write things in different perspectives is met with a challenge of making the characters original. Martin excelled in this.

The plot if not clear yet, or should I rather say, the grand scheme of things. I have a few assumptions and my bf grinned when I told him my thoughts but I still don’t know for sure. That is because I never watch an episode of the series unless I have read it before. I don’t want to be spoilered.

gameofthrones daenerys gif

I fell in love with the brave, shy Sam and strong, hot-headed Jon. My female favourite is clearly Dany and I want to read more of those, naturally. But even though most of the book is about war, maidens in distress, knights, revenge and secrets, I mostly don’t care about those aspects at the moment. I was most fascinated by the Others and my gut feeling that all of Westeros will be doomed if they’re not stopped. BUT there are not a lot hints at such an outcome in the book, so this is no spoiler, but rather my own assumption.

It was fun guessing and assuming what’s bound to happen next and feeling, hoping and fearing with the characters as all of them had to go through some sort of trial, find their true elves, their honor or home. I can’t wait to read the second part A Clash of Kings.

The reason why I only gave 4 stars are personal ones. As I said, I would have liked to know more what is going on at and beyond the wall. Also, I read A Game of Thrones along with two other books so I felt that I needed a really long time ( for me anyway) to get through it because I really didn’t want to rush anything.

If you are looking for an interesting read where you have to think a little bit, read about true knights, wars and magical creatures, this book is definitely something for you! Go ahead and start today!

I know this is not about the book, but I just fell in love with Khal Drogo of the series.

lets-chat

Have you read books of A Song Of Ice And Fire series? If so, which? Did you watch the TV series? Do you have a favourite character and what do you think about Khal Drogo? Let’s chat in the comments!

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

7 thoughts on “A Game Of Thrones by G.R.R. Martin | Review”

  1. Only 800 pages? I thought the book looks thicker 😂 I’m glad the pace is “moving along swiftly” I haven’t seen any episodes either. I do hope to read them one of these days. Is your bf jealous of you crushing on that guy? Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I think he is a teeny tiny bit jealous but he can manage 🙊
      They do look like a lot more but I really liked that there weren’t too many descriptions of people and places but side stories were told in important, yet short conversations. It was very refreshing and not tiresome at all, which I feared given the length of the book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

