Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell | Review

BowBowBow 3/5 Ribbons

Melody’s Key is a romance bmelodys-key-coverook through and through. It is on the fluffy side of romance but there is also a darkness about the characters that will make you love them even more. The characters are deep and emotional, irrational and overall, very real. I liked both Tegan and Mason much even though sometimes things between them were awkward or unreasonable, or predictable. I loved the supportive system of family and friends around them and how well it fit into the story. The family bond is something very special.

The book is not only about romance but also about art, especially music and everybody who plays an instrument himself will find the songs those two write quite enjoyable. Everybody who can’t really imagine the thing, go check out Coryell’s YouTube channel. He’s a musician as well so you can actually hear all the songs that are written and played in the book. Just listen to one or two songs of his (use Melody’s Key to search) and you’ll get the vibes of the book. Better than any book I can assure you.

And even though I thought the premise was kind of cliché, it turned out to be a very fun, enjoyable read.

What really got to me was the poetic, wonderful writing style that took every possible moment and turned it into a dream. It was easy to read and engaging. This book made me sad, laugh and at a few points I was shocked and a few times, it had me rolling my eyes at the cute cheesiness of it all. I loved the cute and sweet, honest moments between Mason and Tegan because they were just what probable all the dreamy heads of us would have wanted for themselves. The novel actually has a morale of sorts as well: don’t judge a book by its cover 😉 Overall, it was a very enjoyable read.

Why three stars, you might ask?

There is an answer to that as well. In the beginning, I loved the setting and the characters, their background stories and everything seemed to be perfect but at some point, I lost interest. To be honest, I felt like there wasn’t much happening in the book. The romance was slow-burn all right, but for me, there can’t only be romance. I need something more to keep me interested and so, it was really hard to push through the middle part of the book. A lot of scenes were dragged out unnecessarily. In the last 100 pages or so there was really something going on. But the ending was quite predictable, at least for me. That’s why I couldn’t really enjoy the last 100 pages as much as I would have liked to. And since the middle part was hard to read through as well, I have to say that in my opinion, it wouldn’t have hurt to have a good 80 pages less.

It is a nice read, but it was just too dragged out of me. But if you want a romantic, realistic romance, you should give this one a try.

A copy of this book has been provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

2 thoughts on “Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell | Review”

Leave a Reply

