Eyes of Autumn by Cynthia H. Wise | Review

Bow 1/5 Ribbons

This book had me feeling all kinds of things, unfortunately though, not a lot of the feelings were good ones. At first, I was hooked and really intrigued by the characters and their funny and romantic interactions. After a while though, I felt like the plot was not well thought through. There were no real twists to the plot of general mystery because everything was kind of presented on a silver platter, if you know what I mean.

https://i0.wp.com/www.cbbbookpromotions.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/Eyes-of-Autumn-Cover.jpg

The plot and general characters and happenings had a lot of potential but it wasn’t fully used. Major plot strings were loosely vowed together, but mostly they were just coming my way with a huge cut. And at some point I was asking myself, why is this happening and what purposed does this new character/ event have?

Maybe I am too harsh on the book here, but I also thought that most of the characters were not emotional at all, even at very dire and dark times. Or what I felt should have been dire times of need and general sadness, but I won’t spoil anything here 😉 Overall, I can say that there were a lot of interesting characters that I enjoyed.

Some very important characters were introduced very late. This and other abrupt additions of plot strings and background stories gave me an impression of a very rushed last third of the book. There were a lot of interesting developments between different groups of people but it was not described with great detail. This made me contemplate the importance of those sequences.

The writing was easy and fast to read and made for a very pleasant reading experience. Though I have to mention here that there are choice words within the novel. The only thing that put me off was the occasional sprinkle of a mixture of lustful fantasies about characters and rude language that, for me, seemed unnatural in the flow of the story.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I would have liked, but I would suggest to give it a go. My opinion does not have to be yours.

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

4 thoughts on “Eyes of Autumn by Cynthia H. Wise | Review”

  1. That was a really well thought out review. I love how you took things that you both liked and disliked. Not being able to connect to characters is one of the main reason I will rate a book low stars. If I can’t connect then the plot doesn’t even matter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the exact same way. If I can’t feel what the characters feel, a lot of things annoy me very easily. But overall, I’d always suggest people take their own look at books 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

