New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag

new-york-times-by-the-book-tag

The New York Times ‘By the Book’ tag was created by Marie Berg on YouTube, and I was tagged by Reg@SheLatitude.

Check out her lovely blog and leave some love ❤

Let’s do it! 😀

What book is on your nightstand now?

1472324067613

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. I kind of liked the book so far, but it does move slowly sometimes and I have started reading other books. I want to finish it I just have to pick it up again. I’m halfway through so you just wait and see: The review will be there soon. 😉

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?https://i0.wp.com/media.openroadmedia.com/files/media/2016/08/26/1472226943_Duncan_Portal.jpg

I just loved Portal of a Thousand Worlds by Dave Duncan. The book had everything that I wanted and more. The characters were real, the happenings realistic and they took me by surprize. The ending was magical and I enjoyed this book so much, I can really recommend it to anyone. I will post the whole review this frieday so come visit again 😉

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I might have two people in mind, for different reasons. I would want to meet Tolkien, because I’m a great fan of his works and I’d like to know what he thinks of the films Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit and if he’d approve of them. But I’d also like to meed Shakespeare just to know who s/he really was. Some suspected the queen, and I’d love for that to be true.

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/cQ03k6FbY4A/hqdefault.jpg

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e3/Soest_portrait_of_Shakespeare.jpg

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51flAsKFoAL._SX272_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I have been researching the climate change and all related to it for a few years now and there was one book that I can really recommend to everybody. Foer is somebody who has done his research well, but he is also telling his own story and experience with the food we consume and it was not only entertaining but also educating.

 

How do you organize your personal library?https://chachic.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/blackbookshelf.jpg?w=286&h=268

I have always organized it according to color, though if a series has many colors then I usually let them stay together and put books beside them that are of a similar style. After color comes hight. I don’t like my books to look randomly stored so I try to organize them so that the “tallest” is on the left and the smallest book on the right, within the color scheme. While I am writing this I realized that I might be… just a little.. crazy ❤

 

 

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/M/MV5BMTQyNDk5NTU1MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDcyODU0MjE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpgyet?

Confessions Of An Opium Eater is a classic that probably everyone should read at some point. I have heard so much about this book and it has been on my TBR for ages. But I just haven’t gotten around to read it, yet.

 

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

I can’t name one book here. Sometimes, I get excited over books and then they turn out to be not as great as I expected them to be, or just plain boring. But I’m not somebody who reads hundreds of reviews and then decides to read or buy a book. I might be interested in an overall rating, but I usually don’t care if it’s hyped or not. I it doesn’t seem interesting, I won’t read it, even if everybody is drooling over the book.

 

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?https://i1.wp.com/cdn2.curejoy.com/content/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/Can-Too-Much-Sex-Affect-Your-Health-480x576.jpg

I like mystery, romance, adventure, even horror can be entertaining. If the blurb suggest all these things, I can’t help myself. I just have to buy it.

I hate books where the plot is no more than three sentences and ten sex scenes. Just not my type of thing. Also I try to not read too many books where women are just ‘the damsel in distress’ because I just hate mute, victimized characters. This is stuff of the last century for me. There have to me some cool female characters. Especially in fantasy, this can be hard to find.

 

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?https://i0.wp.com/i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/150213095929-27-obama-0213-super-169.jpg

This is a question.. I really don’t know what to answer. I guess it would all depend on how I want to manipulate him or her into doing what I want. I’d rather leave politics to the people who know about the stuff 😉

What do you plan to read next?

There are too many options right now, so I really have no idea. I might read

  • Eyes of Autumn by Cynthia H.Wise
  • Loving vs. Virginia. by Patricia Hruby Powell
  • The Unbroken Line of The Moon by Johanne Hildebrandt
  • How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

 

I Tag:

And YOU! Anybody who wants to do this tag, feel free to do it 😉


lets-chat

What is on next on your TBR? Which author would you like to meet? And what about the president? Let’s chat a little 😉

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

13 thoughts on “New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag”

  1. I love the looks of your personal library! I don’t have as many physical books, but that’s something that I one day want to have. The difference of height in some books bothers me a bit too but I’m trying to not be so… strict about it and just have fun with it. You’re definitely not crazy! 😂

    Thanks for doing the tag. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I don’t know I love organizing and planning things and the heighg of aome books really bothered me so I started to organize by color and books. I don’t have a whole library either, when I moved I had to give away some of them but maybe some day … 📚💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

