Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs | Review

BowBowBowBowBow 5/5 Ribbons

“Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.”

1473413178393

In Tales of the Peculiar, we read myths of peculiars, collected and annotated by Millard Nullings, ward of Miss Peregrine and scholar of all things peculiar. With every tale goes a beautiful picture, a morale of some sort and information about the peculiar world as well as hidden clues to locations of special peculiars. This collection is humorous, intriguing and made me smile after every curious tale.

 

Not only are the tales wonderful for teens, but I think adults and even children would enjoy the wonderful and fascinating stories in the Tales. I am no writer myself but I sure wished I had such a great imagination as Ransom Riggs as I read the book *:*

I so fell in love with the bed-time-story-feeling I got when I started, that I actually read a few stories to my bf who was equally impressed and mesmerized by cannibals, wandering islands and living nightmares. With 192 pages, it was an easy enough read that was over way too soon ❤

I can see myself 15 years from now reading these tales to my own children. You learn a lesson with each of the stories: the importance of friendship and piece, to be more patient and accepting of other people who are not like yourself and much more and I feel compelled to tell all of you to buy this collection.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

5 thoughts on “Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs | Review”

    1. Thank you 🙂 It’s such a great read and even though this comes as a surprise, I loved that the tales weren’t that long. They have just the right size, not only to use them as bed time stories but also to read one or two if you’re just in the mood for something magical, fairy-tale-kind-of-thing that doesn’t require you to read 600 pages. It was a nice change.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This is SO true! 😂 Actually, I didn’t read the other ones either, because the tales seemed interesting and this is also a stand alone book so you don’t really need any background knowledge. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

