Secret Pleasures Every Bookish Fan Should Indulge In 

secret-steps-bnner

Good evening, or good morning, wherever you are, I hope you had a wonderful day so far 😀 I have been thinking about this for a while now and have decided to share with you a secret that I have kept until now… And even worse yet, I want you to indulge in the same pleasurable secret as I.

But first, let me tell you a little story. About two or three years ago, I watched one of my favourite animes ( Dragon Ball Z, can recommend it to basically everyone who is into anime & manga). I was so sad because my favourite characters in the series didn’t get a lot of attention, especially their (more or less romantic) relationship. And so, I searched in the internet for other people and media who could offer my poor heart some consolation. And what I found, was fanfiction.

At first, I was more than a little sceptical because, to be honest, I couldn’t believe “normal” people could actually write good stories. I mean, if they write so well, why don’t they publish their own works? Also, I felt like I was betraying the author with non-canon stories. But, I gave it a try and I fell in love at first fic ❤ ❤ ❤

7-hallmarks-of-bad-fan-fiction-06fb8f32-e483-4112-80c5-39ebb05a03bf

Of course not every story is well written or really thought through. But once you find a few authors and themes you like, it is definitely worth your time. I was actually so in love with all the stories about my favourite characters, that I didn’t touch a book for over a year🙈! I was so engrossed in the community, and I still am today. Of course, I wouldn’t want you to leave the bookish community but there is so much out there, chums, you just have to give it a try. So the steps to become an even bigger, crazy bookish fan of a story or characters are the following:

  1. Select one or two characters you really love and would have yearned for the author to write another book, just to read more about them
  2. Check out a fanfiction site and search for stories including your character
  3. Be overwhelmed by all the wonderful stories you find and dive into the world of your  book one again ❤

Since I started, I have overcome my initial doubts about the whole affair, and can honestly say that fanfiction made me realize just how much I love the characters and stories they tell. Canon and non-canon.

Now, if you’re nodding your head excitedly, and all around you are tiny sparkles because you have decided that this is exactly what you have been looking for, fabulous sparkles animated GIF

you might ask yourself:

How do I access this wonderful dreamland of stories I told you about? The best thing I can think of is to google something if you are very specific. The two pages I can recommend are

fanfiction.net and Archieve of Our Own they have almost everything imaginable!

So check them out and start your journey today! ❤


Have you any experience with fanfiction? What are your favourite pages, stories? Are there characters from a book or a series you’d like to read/hear more about? Let’s chat in the comments 😉

 

 

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

5 thoughts on “Secret Pleasures Every Bookish Fan Should Indulge In ”

  1. I admit, I don’t have any experience with fanfiction. I always wanted to try (especially after reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell), but… like you said, I felt like I was betraying the author somehow, or that no one can write a good enough story for those characters the author created.
    This post, though… reading about your experience with fanfiction actually made me want to give it a fair shot (:
    Oh, and, by the way: I’m also an anime lover 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know how it feels in the beginning. I felt the same way and let’s be honest there is s lot of stuff out there that I couldn’t resd because of poor writing, or plot. But the same goes for books I guess. It’s always worth a try though 😉
      Wow I don’t know a lot of people that are into anime! What are your favourites? Are you watching anything right now?

      Like

Leave a Reply

