As Old As Time A Twisted Tale by Liz Braswell | Review

 

BowBowBowhalf-bow 3.5/5 Ribbons

“What if Belle’s mother cursed the Beast? As Old as Time is the third book in a new YA line that reimagines classic Disney stories in surprising new ways. When Belle touches the Beast’s enchanted rose, memories flood through Belle’s mind-memories of a mother she thought she would

1474610960081

never see again. And, stranger still, she sees that her mother is none other than the beautiful enchantress who cursed the castle and all its inhabitants. Shocked and confused, Belle and the Beast will have to unravel a dark mystery about their families that is 21 years in the making. ”1


Before I read the book I expected to find a romance, mystery and some adventure within. I definetly got the mystery part, some detective work instead of melt-your-heart romance. Even though it didn’t satisfy my first expectations or wishes, it was still a great read.

The story time, being about three days, was quite a lot to handle but the plot was straight forward, with a very clear and fast- paced writing style. EVERYTHING was so unexpected, I really enjoyed the book because I could never really guess what was going to happen next. There were all kinds of secrets to be solved and hints to be interpreted. It was so much fun reading, even though I did need a few days because I had a lot going on this past week.

The ending kind of left me with a sense of sadness and dissatisfaction. Even though the ending is quite mature and gave me the feeling that there will, or could be, more to tell about Belle’s and the Beast’s adventures, I’m nott happy because I felt the characters weren’t too happy. Or content.

Also, even though there was a lot happening and most of it was more than unexpected, for me, there was quite a lack of this foreboding feeling I get when I read and know something big is going to happen soon.

What I really enjoyed was that there were basicall two stories told that joined in the end and made for a grand ending. Especially the “twist” of the tale, Belle’s mother and her story, was very interesting to me and I could never wait to get some more information about her time and perspectives.

The characters were so real and down-to-earth people, I really wished they were real people. Their stories, but also their reaction within the story told were truly amazing and sensible. That’s actually a big plus because I just hate the brave, strong characters who swallow down everything and go on as if nothing ever happened just to bring the pllot forward. There was enough fast-paced plot here to let a few human moments pass between the characters.

I would say this book is definetly worth reading, but I had a some expectations that weren’t met. Even though that is not the book’s fault, there were other things that I didn’t like that let me give As Old As Time three and a half ribbons. I wish I could give more but it wouldn’t be fair I think.


1Source: Amazon.com

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

One thought on “As Old As Time A Twisted Tale by Liz Braswell | Review”

Leave a Reply

