London Haul

If you follow me on Twitter, then you know that I was in London this past week and of course, I have bought awesome things I’d like to show you. ❤

London HaulLike every good little tourist, I have been to the Tower of London and I can say, the 20 Pounds I’ve paid were invested well. I was so fascinated by the old wall and towers, that I bought a little crown to remind me of the wonderful day I spend there. Also, as I love aquaria, we went to Sealife. It wasn’t as big as I would have liked it but the fish were beautiful and because I like fish and sea creatures in general, I took the opportunity to take Mr.Octopus and Ms.Turtle back home to join my other sea friends.

But now comes the part that all of you have been waiting for: the books I bought in London.

1.The first book is The Ballroom by Anna Hope.

The cover of the book (which you will see soon on Instagram or Twitter) caught my attention immediately. The Ballroom is a story about two people who live in an asylum in 1911. Men and women are kept apart but once a week they are allowed to join in the ballroom and dance together. It sounded kind of magical to my in this time of turmoil that were the early 1900’s and the possible romantic story of those two, of John and Ellena, needed a reader.

2.The First Confessor by Terry Goodkind.

Magda Searus has lost her husband in a war that is destroying the whole world. After his death, she gets to know a secret that makes her take action. “Her stand will change the history of the world”.

It seems to be a cool book, on the fantastic side of things. Also, especially in this genre, it is quite hard to find female protagonists so I decided to give this one a go. Later, I did some research and there seems to be a series, and The First Confessor seems to be the prequel. If the prequel is good, I might read the other parts as well.

3.The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien.

I am a huge Tolkien fan but I haven’t read The Silmarillion yet, so I thought I’ll buy it and read it when I have some time. All the books seem to be really interesting, I honestly don’t know with which to start. The Silmarillion tells the story of the Elder Days, the history of Middle-Earth to which the characters in Lord of The Rings look back such as wars etc. Lady Galadriel and Lord Elrond were actually part of this story. In the book are some shorter stories included as well such as the downfall of the Kingdom of Númenor. This is diving deep into Tolkien’s world and I’m sure I will enjoy every minute of it ❤

4. The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

Faith is a girl who loves to discover new things and science – just like me ;). One day, she finds old notes of her father that reveal the existence of a tree. The tree will tell you a truth, when told a lie. “The greater the lie, the greater the truth revealed to the liar”. Naturally, Faith starts to search for this mystery tree. I would certainly do it 😉 Soon she finds herself in dangerous situations and she might find out some truths that had better been left withhelf..

5. Unfinished Tales of J.R.R. Tolkien

The unfinished stories of Tolkien are something bittersweet to me. I love to walk the paths of Middle-Earth all the time. I think I watched The Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings about 500 times of so. To read tales that might never have an end is really sad. Knowing that I will never know what happens next is also kind of frustrating but there is also hope. For the people and places and culture that will never be forgotten, even if they never existed in real life. Therefore I have very high expectations and I hope they will be fulfilled. I’ll definitely tell you what it was like.

In the next weeks, I will hopefully finish all of them and give you detailed reviews of every single one. The books that I have posted so far are more romance than fantasy, now’s time for the fantasy to take over. But for now I saw to you as he said to them “May the wind under your wings bear you where the sun sails and the moon walks.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

Leave a Reply

