Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

BowBowBowBow 4/5 Bows

Overviewobsidian-cover5.jpg

Katy and her mother are moving to West Virginia to make a new start. In a small town in the middle of nowhere, Katy is not sure if she can fit in. Dee, the girl next door seems to be the only friend she has for some time, but her hot brother Daemon tries to push Katy away from his sister. Why doesn’t he want those two to become friends? It seems he really hates Katy but when she is attacked by a creepy stranger, Daemon comes to save her and reveals his true identity. He, his sister and a few others in this sleepy town are aliens with cool abilities. But others want to steal those powers and before Katy can realize what this all means, she is part of a fight she cannot win without staying with Daemon. And soon, their relationship takes a different turn than expected..

This book is written from Katy’s perspective and is the first book of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series. The Lux series is really worth reading guys, so if you have a little time at your hands, go ahead and start, you won’t regret it!

What I liked

When the main character and her soon to be hero meet up, the unfair treatment she gets from all sides are a bit sad and I realy felt for her. Sometimes it was hilarious and just then, when I thought ‘this is enough bad treatment’, all of the curtains are lifted and Katy and the reader find out about the secret of Daemon and his sister Dee. From then on, there is a chemistry between Deamon and Katy and the jerk is becoming more and more adorable. The reader and Katy are slowly able to see through his wall of indifference and jackass attitude and find a lonely, naive and loyal boy behind his front.

A lot of things were made clear in the second half of the book. It was more understandable what was going on between the hero and heroine. I just couldn’t put the book down. There was so much going on that Katy didn’t understand, so many strange people and incidents. And then suddenly, in the most dire situations, everything comes down to the question: Who is Daemon really? Even though some things Daemon did didn’t make sense in the beginning, they made sense later on so that was quite OK. The relationship between the two builds slowly, but once they put their differences aside, I could feel that they like each other, very much. The ending was kind of abrupt but it left me with the want to start the second book of the series right away.

What I disliked

In the beginning, things were really confusing. Not only for Katy but for me as well. I didn’t get why Daemon was so mean but at the same time, he wanted to spend time with her. That seemed to me like just another bad trick to be mean to her. I really didn’t see those two being together.

Also, the friendship between Dee and Katy seem to progress really fast and at some point, Katy declared that Dee was her best friend. I, as a reader was not convinced because there was not that much interaction between the two. On the other hand, I have to admit that the book is very fast paced. I would have liked to read a few more scenes between those two.

Even though there a some minor things that did not really add up in my mind, the book was wonderfully written, fast paced and very deep and emotional.

Author: RibbonReviews

Hey there! My name is Klara and I love reading and to share my thoughts about the things I read. I know how hard it can be to choose your next read. So I realized that I should start my own Blog not only tell the people out there what new literature is worth taking a look at. But also what other books are out there and have been long forgotten ;))

2 thoughts on “Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout”

Leave a Reply

